German Spanish French

HOME > ABOUT US > TESTIMONIALS

La Selva Testimonials & Reviews

Contact the Owner


The following are extracts from the independent “Trip Advisor” website concerning La Selva Jungle Lodge. If you would like to see more independent reviews please go to www.tripadvisor.com and simply search for “La Selva”.

Hi Vero,

Vero, Thank you so much for everything! We had a blast and everything went over very smoothly!

Thank you for the help!

Thanks for your continued business,

Felipe

Felipe x 2
La Selva
November 2016

Hi Vero,

I just wanted to let you know that our trip was fantastic. The Peru, Amazon and Galapagos sections all went wonderfully well. Loved all the accommodation.

Sacred Valley was terrific - loved the hotel and the excursions that we did. As was Machu Picchu. We were very grateful to have had the extra ticket the next morning to get photos of the sunrise. The hotel there is amazing. Cusco had some festivals on whilst we were there so lots to see, although I was there 25 years ago and it is so busy now.

We loved the Vieja Cuba in Quito. The staff are wonderful and we ate there and had a great night. We also did the 1028 Bus tour which was very good value.

The Selva Lodge again was amazing and well worth the extra money for our own guide. Everything went like clockwork and our guides were fabulous. So thank you for such a great job. Once again Vero, thank you for a job well done, it is a holiday we will never forget.

Regards June

June x 4
La Selva, Peru and Galapagos
Australia
June 2016

Hi Vero,

Thank you for everything you did for us. La Selva was fantastic. Our guide Ricardo was fantastic. We had a great time in Ecuador!

Paul x 2
Canada
July 2016

Good morning Veronica,

I wanted to let you know that my trip to the La Selva Lodge was one of the best trips I have ever taken. It was beautiful from start to finish. The food and service was spectacular!

Thank you so much.

Rebecca
USA
June 2015

Hi Vero,
Firstly, let me say how absolutely wonderful the whole trip was!! We enjoyed every moment of it! Most pleasant of all was all the people we encountered during our stay in Ecuador and how kind and attentive everyone was from Sandra at the Alcazar to our guide, Brauleo, to all at the Selva Lodge.
Hands down the very best vacation we have ever had in our lifetime!!

Edward x 2
La Selva + Continental Ecuador tour
Canada
February 2015

Hi Veronica, I wanted to let you know that we had an amazing experience at Le Selva! The service, accommodations, guides, tours, transfers, meals...everything, was very well organized and top notch! Thank you so much for everything you did to make our Amazon Jungle tour an experience we will cherish forever!
All the best,

Shelagh and Richard
Canada
January 2015

Dear Christian,

I just wanted to let you know we all really enjoyed our stay at La Selva. Our guides, Paul and Dario were fantastic, the lodge was beautiful and setting stunning.

Many thanks again for all your help in booking our stay.

Best regards

Nancy
USA
January 2015

Hi Vladimir,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a lovely time at La Selva Lodge. When I get a chance (we just returned from Ecuador yesterday), I will write a review for "Trip Advisor."

We were unable to stay at La Casona due to the fact that we were stuck in traffic returning from Otavalo. The Pan American highway had been closed due to another earthquake and it took us 6 hours just to get to the outskirts of Quito. We decided it would make much more sense for us to stay near the airport which is what we did. So no harm done!

Wishing you all the best,

 

Gail
August 2014

Hi Veronica,
Thanks for helping arrange out stay at La Selva - we had an incredible time!

K., Canada

Hi Veronica,

I just wanted to touch base with you and let you know we had the adventure of a lifetime! We all absolutely loved La Selva and I am about to write a glowing review on Trip Advisor. 
Thank you for all your help along the way setting up every last detail!
Best,

Jen

Jen, USA

Hi Maria.

We head off tomorrow for Galapagos but before leaving just want to thank you for a wonderful holiday. Not only was La Selva Lodge more than what I was expecting, the hotels before and after were wonderful and the transport and support supberb. I don't think I have had a holiday so well organised and knew all along you were taking care of every detail. I am so pleased I found you on my internet search for an Amazon experience. I will certainly be recommending La Selva Lodge, Columbia Travel and you personally to anyone looking for a similar experience.
Thanks again.
Neil

Neil, Australia

Hi Vero,

Thank you so much for organising our holiday to Ecuador last month. We had a fantastic time and everything worked perfectly from the moment we landed in Ecuador until the moment we left – all of which you booked for us; flights, accommodation, taxis, guides etc… We think you live in a wonderful country with wonderful people.
Many, many thanks from us all,
Sven, Andrea, David and Adam

Gracias!

Sven, UK

Vero,
We thoroughly enjoyed every bit of Ecuador, mainly due to a good and balanced itinerary. I can only recommend your beautiful country and people to whoever is interested in South America. 
Thank you
H.

Harmut, Germany

Vero,
I just wanted to email to tell you that you did a terrific job with all aspects of our trip: La Selva and the many transports to and from the airport.
La Selva was everything it was billed to be and more. It was a "life experience". Everyone there was terrific; as were the birds, monkeys, snakes, tarantulas, butterflies, etc.
Thank you again for helping with our greatest vacation ever.

Best, Eliot

Eliot, USA

Hi Vero,
I have just returned from the La Selva Jungle Lodge.
I really enjoyed the stay. The staff were extremely helpful. The lodge was very good.
The guide that I had Rodrigo was excellent, his knowledge was exceptional.
Please pass on my thanks to all the staff.
Thank you also for your assistance too.
Best regards
C

C, UK

Vero,
I just wanted to write and thank you for all your help in setting up our trip to Ecuador which was absolutely perfect. It was flawless!
Beginning with the transfers to and from the airport. Everyone was on time to pick us up at the hotel or waiting for us at the airport when we departed the luggage claim area. We also loved the help that Ricardo was at the airport after our driver carefully handed us off to him. Our flights could not have been easier.
Our stay at La Selva was also very memorable. Once again the staff was very accommodating and our guide, Andres, was knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Martha and Greg

Martha, US

La Selva was completely right for the setting of the wonderful Amazon.  You couldn't have chosen better guides for us either, Vini our naturalist and Teo our local guide were second to none - they made a great team and could not do enough to make our limited time in the Amazon, special.
Everything, accommodations, flights, drivers/transfers, crews and guides were great.
Lastly but not least we must mention you Vero, you have been so organised, thoughtful regarding our needs and always patient.  Without your help we would never have had such a great time. Even making sure that Alan had his birthday cake for his 60th birthday.  Well done.
We have never done this before and we have travelled extensively over the las 25 years.  You should be very proud.
Many thanks,
Trina

Trina, UK

Hi Veronica,

Just a short message to tell you that our stay at La Selva was terrific. The location was beautiful and the food/service/guides were very good! It met and exceeded our expectations. We are so glad and fortunate that our itinerary resulted in our stay at La Selva. All of the transfers/transportation was very well coordinated. Our stay at La Casona de La Ronda was also very nice. It gave us some time to explore more of the Old Town location we had visited prior to going to La Selva. The Galapagos and Mach Picchu were great experiences as well. If we ever have the opportunity of returning to Ecuador/Peru/Galapagos I would certainly check out the offerings of the Columbus Group. Thanks again for your assistance in scheduling the La Selva part of our journey. All the best,

Wayne

Wayne , USA

Hola Francisco!

we had an amazing time! i really cannot think of any ways you could improve. you were unbelievably, incredibly helpful throughout! the experience itself was outstanding, a real dream...  :)

we wrote a tripadvisor review recently, which i know helps you (and helped me in finding a place).

wanted to let you know we FINALLY wrote our review in tripadvisor :) i was happy to read a lot of other recent positive reviews.
we still dream about our trip. thank you again for all your help and i wish la selva a lot of luck and business in the years to come! (and health to all)

we wish you the best for 2014,

Maria

Maria, USA

Hi Veronica,

The La Selva Lodge was fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay and our guide, Daniel, was excellent.
We will be in touch next year for the Galapagos.

Tina

Tina, USA

Hi Vero,
A quick note to say thank you so much for organizing such a great trip!!  We loved La Selva and will gladly recommend it and you to anybody interested in a fantastic adventure!  We'll be posting to Trip Advisor shortly, but wanted to take a  moment to thank you again for doing such a great job!!!
Happy New Year,

Gene and Barbara 

Gene, USA

Dear Veronica
Wish you a very happy and prosperous new year. Hope all is well. We immensely enjoyed our trip to Ecuador!

Sincerely,
Vinay

Vinay, INDIA

Hola Veronica,

       I wanted to let you know that my husband and I had a wonderful time at La Selva.  We especially liked the Family Suite so thank you for that recommendation.  We were very impressed with La Selva:  the guides were fantastic, the food delicious, the accommodations were very nice, the staff was so friendly and helpful, the location of the lodge on the lake was fantastic.  Wow!

   I am recommending La Selva to my friends and I will write a review and recommendation on Trip Advisor.

Muchas gracias,

    Kathy Knight

Kathy, ECU

Dear Vero,
I just want to say thank you for helping us coordinate an incredible journey -- the itinerary was very well organized, everyone on your team was helpful and responsive, and it was nice to have all of the details solved. Please know all of your efforts were appreciated. 
I will be sure to recommend your team to others in the future. Thank you again!

Jonathan, USA

Hi Cristina,
Thank you for writing. We have been incredibly busy since we returned preparing for our group next week but definitely wanted to say thank you for such a lovely week at La Selva.
Our guides, Medardo and Diana were wonderful, full of knowledge, and FUN. They effortlessly drew our group together and created a wonderful atmosphere of camaraderie. They made a fantastic team and were both so patient with all of us as we searched the treetops for wildlife.

At first, we were unsure about the lack of A/C in the rooms; not for ourselves personally, but for future guests. However, after the first few hours, we saw that the concept is genius! Once our bodies adapted to the environment, the open-air design was incredible. Not only did our bodies remain accustomed to the environment, but we slept so peacefully to the sounds of the rain forest. Well done! The only thing I would add to the rooms would be some hooks near the door for rain gear, day pack, etc. and some curtains for the window at the foot of the bed where foot traffic could see into the room. The bed was wonderful and I loved sitting out on the porch listening to the sounds of the jungle.

The food was spectacular and always plentiful. The restaurant staff was always energetic and incredibly prompt with their timing, clearing plates and delivering courses like clockwork! In fact, I was especially impressed with the friendliness of the staff overall. Every single person we passed offered a genuine smile and a warm "hello"...even at 5am! We truly felt welcome at every turn.

We were also thrilled to meet Vladimir and to hear his vision for the continued growth of the yoga/meditation program. He spoke with evident passion and excitement about the options for future groups and we know he would create a powerful experience for our guests. His unique background adds a beautiful compliment to the atmosphere you have all created in the middle of paradise :)

We also met with Miguel who was the perfect host. We discussed plans for marketing yoga retreats and I am excited to begin the planning process for 2014. If there were any doubts about basing our retreats at La Selva prior to speaking with Miguel, he erased them completely. We are thrilled to be in touch with him and trust that our guests will be well taken care of in his hands. We are looking forward to the meditation/yoga videos and photos that he has planned to market these retreats.

I can say with certainty that the days we spent at La Selva were the only days in my life where I was actually excited to wake up early! Every day was filled with the perfect balance of exploration and relaxation. I especially enjoyed the free time mid-day for a chance to create our own experience. It was lovely to be given the choice of kayaking, fishing, visits to the butterfly farm, or (my favorite) napping! The guided activities were also spectacular and I enjoyed the variety...swamp hiking, canoe riding, monkey-spotting, and tower climbing...what a wonderful combination! The visit to Silverio's home was especially incredible. It was such an honor to have been offered a glimpse into their community and the opportunity to sit down with the family and learn about their culture was priceless. 

The small details throughout our trip did not go unnoticed either. From the welcome bottle of wine, the farewell gift, the scented towel upon arrival, the champagne farewell toast, and beyond, we were continually surprised throughout the trip. The guides also did a wonderful job of setting expectations before the transfer out to the lodge so the process was seamless. I feel like I could go on and on extolling our praises for the wonderful job done by everyone involved but I will save some of my comments for the many trips we are sure to have with La Selva in the near future.

Thank you again for a wonderful time!
Best,

Nicole, USA

The Amazing Amazon!

We just returned from spending our honeymoon at La Selva, and it was nothing short of amazing. The journey from Quito to the lodge is definitely an adventure, but we really felt like it added to the specialness of the experience, the paddle canoe ride from the dock in the jungle out into the lagoon where you fist spot the lodge was simply stunning. The lodge itself is wonderful, newly remodeled and extremely comfortable. We stayed in one the the superior suites on the lake and enjoyed the open screened walls and doors, it was incredible to be immersed in the jungle. Our naturalist guide Marco and native guide Omar were both outstanding! Please understand before you come here that no matter how wonderful the guides there is no guarantee that you will be able to see all of the wildlife that you are hoping to, this is the jungle people, and you are dealing with real, wild animals here. That being said we were extremely blessed to see a ton of wildlife in our 5 days at La Selva, the first evening alone our guides helped us spot squirrel monkeys, long nosed bats, and coolest of all a Harpy Eagle at the top of a tree along the lakes shore. We saw innumerable types of birds, 4 types of monkeys (the red howlers are my personal favorite), lizards, frogs, and as you would expect in the jungle bugs. Although I will say that they do a great job of keeping the bugs out if the rooms as much as possible. The food was remarkable, 5 courses for dinner every night, and the fresh fruit juices were so delicious. The bartender also makes great cocktails. As a part of our honeymoon package we were treated to some extras which were lovely, a dockside dinner and breakfast on the lake, a massage in the butterfly house, and our favorite a sunset lagoon cruise in a indigenously canoe. We were incredibly sad to leave La Selva, not ashamed to admit that I shed a tear or two on the canoe ride out. Can't wait to return again! If you love adventure, wildlife, and the outdoors this is the spot for you.

We also went on a couple of tours while we wee in Quito, we did the Colonial Quito tour and toured to the Telerifico cable car and the Solar Museum at the Equator with a great local guide Ivan (vizcainoivan on reipadvisor). He was incredibly knowledgable about the past and present of the city, as well as just fun to be with. He had very interesting stories and facts about all of the locations we visited, and was very willing to answer any additional questions that we had about the city our just Ecuador in general.

BethO19. Portland, Oregon

I can't say enough positive things about my experience at La Selva. The location is amazing, the accommodations were rustic, but comfortable, and the services were fantastic. Yes, the huts are simple - no electricity or water at night, and the bugs can get in, but it is the jungle and if you were protected from it, you wouldn't be getting the real experience. The staff is amazing, from the guides to the chefs, housekeepers, bartenders, etc. I am a vegetarian and they made me special meals at every opportunity. The jungle activities were fantastic. It is an amazing experience."

drnorth Vancouver, Canada

I had a choice of a number of lodges in the Amazon near Coca. I chose La Selva because of their customer support, quick response, desire for my business and ultimately they met or exceeded my expectation. They did everything right and the food was better than I expected. The cabins are Rustic and could be updated a bit however, everything else was done right and our guide Paul was very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable and he listened to our requests and accommodated us the best that he could."

trek4cs, Toronto

 Going to La Selva was an experience that we will not forget. It was our hope to experience a "deep" jungle environment in the heart of Amazonia. We were able to do so and found it to be even better than we expected and hoped it to be.

Being met in the Quito airport by Julie was a very comfortable way to start the journey. Being the only English speakers in the group at that time, Julie was very much concerned about us and made sure to explain everything to us in perfect English. We knew right away that we were dealing with a quality operation with the way we were treated at the airport. By the way, the flight over the Andes was spectacular."

ruvs, Los Gatos, CA

I went here with a group of 7 friends last spring and have to say it was the most amazing place I've ever been in my whole life. I'm writing this review because I was just reminiscing with my companions how about how magical the whole experience was. Amazing amenities, unbelievable staff, possible the most talented wildlife trackers in the world, all of which are sited in the most stunning site in the amazon. We spent 2 nights in the main lodge and then camped deeper into the jungle to stay in tents for 5 nights. It was an extra expense but definitely worth it. The lodge sent team members into the woods the night before we went out to prepare the tents for us. Then the next morning we hiked for a few hours and took a canoe to the site. Even out in the middle of nowhere, the amenities were surprisingly great."

kevinlkl, Los Angeles, California

Inquire HereToll Free USA/Canada: +1-866-687-3109 • UK: +44-080-0032-8271
Live Help
La Selva Press, Awards & Certifications:
Awards